How I plan my week

A lot of people ask me how I manage to be involved in so many projects and how I achieve as much as I do. 

I decided to write this blog  post explaining the process I go through when planning my week. 

I usually do it on Sunday and it all starts with me reviewing the previous week. I look into my calendar, notice if there was anything I didn’t get done or something that needs follow up. If something didn’t get done I evaluate how much of a priority that is.

After that I get a piece of paper and write EVERYTHING I want to do that week, this can be work related stuff or personal things I want to achieve. At this point I try to just write what comes to my mind and I don’t really worry if it is realistic or not. We will get to it later in the process.

When I feel like I wrote everything I open my iCalendar (love this tool because it syncs with my phone). I have different calendars set up on my iCalendar ( each one has its color and relates to one of my “hats”. This is going to be important later on, to make sure my week is balanced). Ok! The next step will be to get the items on my paper and allocate them to a time slot that I have available. I try, as much as I can to batch tasks together, so for example if I’m working on the blog I try to do as much as I can blog related that day. That helps me focus and being on the right mindset. It would be very frustrating to be working on a blog post and then go and work on lesson planning and then go back to work on the blog, for example. 

After I have all the tasks allocated to a time slot I look at the weekly view and go day by day and make sure the days will flow. Very often I have to readjust my routines and workouts, just because besides my working schedule my week is never the same. That’s why the colors are so important to me. I can quickly check if my workouts and my meditation are there as much I want it to be. I can see how much time I am spending on each section of my life. 

Obviously not all goes as smooth as I would love it to go. So it is important to keep an open mind if you need to swap things around. 

At the end of the day you don’t to be a robot and if you have to swap things around because of an emergency or just something you were not expecting make sure to do so and don’t beat yourself over it. Just allow for change to happen. Always keep your priorities and the bigger picture in mind. IMG_8782

One thought on “How I plan my week

Leave a comment